Taylor Swift Surprises Fans with 15 New Songs, Reveals ‘The Tortured Poets Department’ Is a Double Album

Taylor Swift Surprises Fans with 15 New Songs, Reveals ‘The Tortured Poets Department’ Is a Double Album

Taylor Swift had a big surprise for her fans just two hours after dropping her much-awaited album, "The Tortured Poets Department." She announced that it's not just one album, but a double album!

"I've been pouring my heart into writing poetry over the last two years and I wanted to share it all with you. So, here's the second part of TTPD: The Anthology. It includes 15 extra songs," Taylor shared on Instagram at 2 a.m. ET. "Now, the story isn't just mine anymore... it's yours too."
Taylor Swift The Tortured Poets Department

The extra songs include four bonus tracks she had previously mentioned: "The Manuscript," "The Bolter," "The Albatross," and "The Black Dog." They were supposed to be on separate physical album versions but are now part of the second installment of "TTPD."

The surprise release at 2 a.m. might not have been a total shock to die-hard Swifties. Taylor had dropped hints leading up to it. She set the clock in a Spotify installation promoting the album to 2:00 and included a peace sign, which she had shown at the Grammys when revealing she'd kept the album secret for two years. Then, a teaser video released on Wednesday also started with a clock set to 2:00. Finally, a two-hour countdown appeared on her Instagram profile just before the album's midnight release on Friday.

Fans quickly noticed some interesting things in the new songs. One track titled "thanK you aIMee" caught attention because of its unusual capitalization. Many thought it might be a diss track about Kim Kardashian, despite the lyrics pointing to an older acquaintance. In another track called "So High School," Taylor seems to be celebrating good times and possibly hinting at her current relationship with NFL champion Travis Kelce. Lines like "I'm watching 'American Pie' with you on a Saturday night" and "Touch me while your bros play 'Grand Theft Auto'" sparked speculation among fans.

Below is the tracklist for the surprise second half:
  • “The Black Dog”
  • “imgonnagetyouback”
  • “The Albatross”
  • “How Did It End?”
  • “So High School”
  • “I Hate It Here”
  • “thanK you aIMee”
  • “I Look in People’s Windows”
  • “The Prophecy”
  • “Cassandra”
  • “Peter”
  • “The Bolter”
  • “Robin”
  • “The Manuscript”